Migration issues

Active contacts between Russia and the EU Member States, changes on labour markets and in social and economic sphere, aggravation of problems linked to illegal migration and growing number of refugees make cooperation between Russia and the EU on matters of management of migration flows necessary. That is why migration sphere remains a priority area of Russia-EU cooperation within the Common Space of Freedom, Security and Justice.

The signing in 2006 of the Agreement on Readmission (i.e. admitting back persons illegally staying in the territory of one country to the country where they arrived from) which entered into force on 1 June 2007, became a significant step in respect of combating illegal migration. As of 1 June 2010 the readmission procedure applies also to nationals of third countries and stateless persons. In order to effectively implement the Agreement, Russia and most of EU Member States signed relevant bilateral Implementing Protocols. Within the Russia-EU Joint Committee on readmission the Parties adopt recommendations for practical implementation of the Agreement. The 17th meeting of the Joint Committee took place on 4 October 2017 in Brussels. 

In May 2011, Russia and the EU launched a Dialogue on Migration. The Dialogue provides for an exchange of views on legal migration, asylum and other forms of international protection, as well as discussing approaches to combating illegal migration and trafficking in human beings. To foster their interaction within the Dialogue the Parties hold regular expert sessions on issues of common interest are held. The most recent meeting in this format dedicated to issues of combating illegal migration took place on 4-5 April 2018 in Sofia. 

The Border Guard Service of the Federal Security Service of the Russian Federation and the European Agency for the Management of Operational Cooperation at the External Borders of the Member States of the European Union (FRONTEX, the European Border and Coast Guard Agency as of today) established contacts in 2006.

Постоянное представительство Российской Федерации при Европейском союзе
+322-375-66-29, 374-63-47
+322-374-63-47
/
ru en

Вопросы миграции

Активные контакты между Россией и странами ЕС, изменения на рынках труда и в социально-экономической сфере, обострение проблем, связанных с нелегальной миграцией и увеличением числа беженцев, делают необходимым сотрудничество между Россией и Евросоюзом в вопросах управления миграционными потоками. Именно поэтому миграционная сфера остается приоритетным направлением сотрудничества в рамках общего пространства свободы, безопасности и правосудия России и ЕС.

Важным шагом в плане противодействия нелегальной миграции стало подписание в 2006 году Соглашения между Россией и ЕС о реадмиссии (возвращении нелегально пребывающих на территории одной страны лиц в страну, откуда они прибыли). Соглашение вступило в силу 1 июня 2007 года, а с 1 июня 2010 года эта процедура действует также в отношении граждан третьих стран и лиц без гражданства. В целях эффективной реализации соглашения Россия и большинство государств-членов ЕС заключили соответствующие двусторонние исполнительные протоколы. В рамках Совместного комитета по реадмиссии сторонами принимаются рекомендации по практическому применению соглашения. 4 октября 2017 года в Брюсселе состоялось 17-е заседание Совместного комитета.

В мае 2011 года запущен Миграционный диалог Россия-ЕС. Он предусматривает обмен мнениями по вопросам легальной миграции, предоставления убежища и иных форм международной защиты, а также обсуждение подходов в борьбе с нелегальной миграцией и торговлей людьми. Для наращивания взаимодействия в рамках диалога на регулярной основе проводятся экспертные тематические сессии по вопросам, представляющим взаимный интерес. 4-5 апреля 2018 г. в Софии была проведена очередная встреча в этом формате, посвященная вопросам противодействия нелегальной миграции.

В 2006 году были установлены контакты между Пограничной службой ФСБ России и Агентством ЕС по вопросам управления оперативным сотрудничеством на внешних границах государств-членов (FRONTEX; ныне – Агентство пограничной и береговой охраны ЕС).